GATSBY

I Started My Blog Three Years Ago Back When I Had No Idea The Online Universe Existed. At The Time My Blog Was About Self Development And Creativity For Music And I Had No Plans To Monetize It. Like Most Of You Reading , I Started My Blog For The Fun Of It But As Time Went On It Became A Part Of Me That I Can Just Escape To And Do Great In . What Started Off As An Hobby Became My Obsession & Craft , I Love Writing Blog Posts.

Being A Blogger Allows You To Meet Different Type Of Artists And They Backgrounds . This Week I Had A Chance To Preview Some Of My Close Friend Work That Recently Just Dropped 19 Feb , Titled ‘ GATSBY ‘ The 7 Track EP Is Delivered By Lirrik . Knowing The Kid And How His Work Was From High School Till Now I Must Say It’s A Whole Different Ball Game But Something Thats Authentic And Proper To Listen To . The EP Was Free-styled Except Track 5 ‘ I Never Thought ‘ And No Doubt My Homie Can Really Murder A Beat ! Lirrik Is Part Of A Pretoria Based HipHop Crew , Prodigy Music Group Of Which I’ve Also Written About On The Blog.

The EP Delivers A Sophomore Infused With Rap Sound And Makes The Project Just Awesome To Bump To. Before The EP Dropped I Had A Chance To Ask Lirrik About The EP And The Whole Direction Behind The Title And The Songs Of Course And How The Vision Just Came About So I Did That And HERE’s How Lirrik Responded : ” okay first and fore most, 95% of the project was completely freestyled, i didnt write any of the songs except one

the title is inspired by the novel ‘The Great Gatsby’ … reason why I’m so fond of that novel and chose to title my project after it is because it’s a story I personally can relate to and another reason is because the role of ‘Gatsby’ is played out by Leo DiCap, who happens to be my fav actor, and for him to play a role that is so magnificent and relatable to me was just breath taking. If you know the novel/movie then you already probably have an idea on what the EP is about.

Basically the EP is built around the image of a person that I view as the ‘Daisy’ in my life, Daisy is whom Gatsby was in love with. and in all 7 songs I express my different emotions towards this person and what hold they have over me.

the genre of the project is emo rap and I would say its more melodic than lyrical

most of the songs are repetitive and reason why is because i want people to really feel the words, the emotion put in them and also be able to sing along. and truth is when i recorded the freestyles I was just doing it for me and the songs were actually not meant to be released but just for my own closure but I just thought to myself since these songs actually help me to get through my own shit, they can actually help someone in the same shoes as me to get through what they going through.

So the main aim of this project is for it to get through to anyone out there that can relate and basically for music lovers. ”

With All Said And Done , Please Support By Giving A Listen To GATSBY on SoundCloud And Show Some Love .

Link : GATSBY

Below Are Some Snippets To The Tracks On The Ep

2 Comments

  1. This article is so fire ! So it the project itself yo ! šŸ”„šŸ”„ā¤ļøā¤ļøšŸ˜­šŸ˜­

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment